Spencer Leigh

Radio

“On the Beat” Programmes on BBC Radio Merseyside.

On The Beat is broadcast on 95.8FM and 1485AM , from 7pm to 8pm on Sundays. It is also online and available on Listen Again for a month.

On The Beat No 1850, Sunday 25 September 2016 5-7pm
Clem Burke of Blondie and Paul Morley on his biography of David Bowie

On The Beat No 1851, Sunday 2 October 2016 5-7pm
Marc Almond

On The Beat No 1852, Sunday 9 October 2016 5-7pm
A celebration of long records (well, some of them) – the records that nobody plays on air: from 7 minutes to 18 minutes.

On The Beat No 1853, Sunday 16 October 2016 5-7pm
Liverpool singer, songwriter and studio director Thomas Lang

On The Beat No 1854, Sunday 23 October  2016 5-7pm
Juke Box Jury with  record promoter Steve Dunwoodie, Clive Pownceby (Bothy Folk Club), Brian O’Connell (rock’n’roll poet) and
George Sephton (the Voice of Anfield).

On The Beat No 1855, Sunday 30 October 2016 5-7pm
Country songwriter Mac MacAnally, part of Jimmy Buffett’s Coral Reefers, and folk singer/songwriter Heidi Talbot, formerly with Cherish The Ladies

On The Beat No 1856, Sunday 6 November 2016 5-7pm
Professor Peter Mills on his new book about the Monkees.

On The Beat No 1857, Sunday 13 November 2016 5-7pm
A Spinners special with Hugh Jones and Mick Groves, plus Stan Francis and the Britannia Bluegrass Band

On The Beat No 1858, Sunday 20 November 2016 5-7pm
Katie Melua, the Manfreds, Zoot Money and P P Arnold – packing the interviews because…

Sunday 27 November 2016 – No show, football

Sunday 4 December 2016 – No show, football

Sunday 11 December 2016 – No show, football

On The Beat No 1859, Sunday 18 December 2016 5-7pm
Music books review show

On The Beat No 1860 Christmas Day, 5-7pm
Chris Hutchins on arranging the meeting between the Beatles and Elvis

On The Beat No 1861, New Years’ Day 2017 5-7pm
First time out – recording debuts by major artists

On The Beat No 1862, Sunday 8 January 2017, 7-8pm
Elvis special with Ray Connolly and Russell Watson. Did Elvis always sing in tune?

On The Beat No 1863, Sunday 15 January 2017, 7-8pm
Live recordings from The Cavern to celebrate its 60th anniversary